Alt tag of the image

What will transport look like in 2040

This year the overarching theme is “Circular Economy.” 


Circular Economy represents a world where nothing is ever wasted, because everything is designed to last longer, be reused, repurposed or recycled.

What can you win?

Top Ten Innovators awards prizes across three categories. Each category will have one winner and two runners up. The winners will receive US $20,000 and runners-up will receive US $10,000.

In addition, we will have an outstanding achievement award, and that winner will receive US $10,000. The outstanding achievement award will be selected from the 21 shortlisted candidates.

So, there are ten prizes in total!

All ten finalists will receive: mentoring support by a Shell expert, the opportunity to benefit from market linkages via Shell’s global network, global exposure and the possibility to be considered as a vendor to Shell or Shell’s customers.

woman in garden carrying box with carrots

Category 1
Food & Agriculture

Enterprises that are providing disruptive circular solutions in food waste reduction and/or sustainable agriculture. This may involve: circular design, production, distribution, remanufacture, (re)use, residual waste collection and recycling of food and agricultural products.

silhouette of car made out of grass

Category 2
Energy & Mobility

Enterprises that are providing innovative circular solutions to enhance energy efficiency in various applications and/or promote circular practices within the mobility supply chain. This many involve circular design, production, distribution, use, residual waste collection and cycle of energy and/or mobility products and services.

hand holding light bulb surrounded by energy related icons

Category 3
Sustainable Future

Enterprises that help reduce waste and deliver positive social and/or environmental change. This may involve circular design, production, distribution, use, repair, reuse, residual waste collection and recycling of products, services, and waste not in the previous two categories.

What is the process?

Top Ten Innovators timeline

What’s next?

The 2019 application window has closed, and we’ve announced our shortlist. Now, our judges are reviewing the finalists and will announce the winners during Global Entrepreneurship Week. In the meantime, for more information on the overall Top Ten Innovators process please take a look at our frequently asked questions and application guidelines.